SPRING GOLF: State Tournament Picture

March 29, 2017 by Andy Morales, AZPreps365

The Division III state tournament will be held at the Randolph Golf Course in Tucson on May 11-12. There are seven sections in the division and the top team in each section will automatically qualify for the tournament.

Eight at-large teams will also qualify for the tournament based on their iWanamaker (iWr) ranking. Additionally, 15 individuals not attached to a qualifying team will qualify for the state tournament.


Let’s take a look at the current standings based on the iWr:

Sec. 1: Blue Ridge

Sec. 2: Yuma Catholic

Sec. 3: Bisbee

Sec. 4: Northwest Christian

Sec. 5: Sedona Red Rock

Sec. 6: Valley Christian

Sec. 7: Desert Christian


If the season ended today (not taking into account the minimum amount of rounds played) these could be the next eight teams in:

Snowflake, Show Low, Payson, Tempe Prep, Northland Prep, Wickenburg, Phoenix Country Day and Fountain Hills.


The 15 nonattached individuals could be:

13: Sarah Hameed, Gilbert Classical

14: Matthew Bernthal, Arizona Lutheran

19: Ainsley Snyder, Gilbert Classical

20: Garson Hatch, Thatcher

22: Jake Tellez, Safford

24: J. Cabot Fowler, Veritas Prep

27: Tommy Whitley, Scottsdale Prep

28: Dougie Kelham, Rancho Solano Prep

29: Jake Livermore, Tanque Verde

31: Will Vickery, Empire

32: Logan Adams, Willcox

37: Axel Hjertstedt, Rancho Solano Prep

39: Taylor Agarwal, Bourgade catholic

40: Austin Rice, River Valley

42: Will Osborn, Arizona College Prep


The regular season ends on May 5. So these rankings could change dramatically.