State tennis champions honor roll

May 1, 2017 by Les Willsey, AZPreps365

Horizon's Liza Isayev and Rancho Solano Prep's Neha Alety easily defended their Division I and Division III girls tennis singles titles, respectively, this past Saturday at Paseo Racquet Center in Glendale.

Isayev, a sophomore, defeated Lindsey Pesqueira of Rincon/University 6-0, 6-1. Alety, a senior, knocked off Safford's Polly Evans, 6-0, 6-0. In her four state tournaments playing singles, Alety was also runner-up twice.

The D-II giris singles title went to Estrella Foothills Zoey Nelson. Nelson, a senior, topped Notre Dame Prep's Lexi Lehman, 6-0, 6-2. Nelson also won the D-III singles title in 2015.

In boys singles, Shadow Ridge's Carlos Hassey had the toughest time securing his second title in three years with a 4-6, 6-2, 6-1 victory over Desert Mountain's Cameron Krimbill. Hassey was D-II runner-up in 2016 and won D-II singles in 2015. Krimbill was part of the 2016 doubles championship team. 

The D-II championship went to Catalina Foothills junior George Jiang, who beat top-seed Oliver Boleratsky of Deer Valley, 6-2, 6-1. Jiang climbed from a third-place finish in D-II last year. Top spot in D-III singles was secured by Pusch Ridge's Preston Grammond, with a competitive, 6-2, 6-4 win over Arizona College Prep's Kesin Dolwani. Dolwani was singles champ in 2015.

Only one of the six doubles championship matches went the maximum three sets, none among the girls. In girls competition, Chaparral's Grace Koester and Erin Hannen defeated Xavier Prep's Jordan Craft and Emily Even, 6-0, 6-2. Koester had been part of D-I runner-up doubles teams the previous two years. The D-II title went to Arcadia's Katie Reed and Jill Rasmussen via a 6-1, 6-0 win over Notre Dame Prep's Alexa Cooke and Natalie Zarasian.

Fifth-seeded Kay Lee Merrill and Carli Merrill of Benson stormed to the D-III crown by beating unseeded Scottsdale Christian Academy's Courtney Sauder and Katie Lawrence, 6-1, 6-4. No other bracket had players seed fith or lower reach a final this year.

The boys doubles champions are Millennium's Maximo Lawlor and Austin Todd, Cactus Shadows Sam Miyata and Colin Mcconnon and Thatcher's Dallin Cook and Logan McMaster.

Cook and McMaster logged their second straight title with a 6-4, 6-3 triumph over Tanque Verde's Niko Plant and Chris McDaniels. Lawlor and Todd moved up a couple notches with their win after two third-place finishes ion 2015 and 2016. They beat Brophy Prep's Trey Brown and Jack Woodrow, 6-4, 6-4.

Miyata and Mcconnon were the most tested doubles champs, rallying for a 4-6, 6-2, 6-3 win over Catalina Foothills Mason Lee and Connor Oseran.