D-I and D-II badminton singles-doubles semifinal matchups set

October 20, 2017 by Les Willsey, AZPreps365

A long first day at the D-I and D-II state badminton championships concluded with Perry High dominating in D-I and the defending D-II singles champ two matches shy of a repeat. Three rounds of the tournament were concluded Friday with the semifinals and finals in D-I and D-II set Saturday (Oct. 21) beginning at 10 a.m. at Independence High School.

The highlights of the day were Perry, the top team in the D-I power rankings, qualifing all six players for the semis -- two singles players and two doubles teams. In D-II, Mesquite's Natalie Weber, the returning singles champ, cruised to three wins.

Here are the semifinal matchups for Saturday:

D-I singles -- #1 Jillian Lagasca (Perry) vs. #5 Abby Mann (Red Mountain); #6 Brennan Agnew (Corona del Sol) vs. #7 Julia Mumme (Perry)

D-I doubles -- #1 Jordan Pierson-Jessica Read (Perry) vs. Ana Munoz-Michaela Daas (Skyline); Unseeded Megan Crow-Kylie Goldberg (Perry) vs. #2 Maddie Reinhart-Alexa Wolfson (Xavier)

D-II singles -- #1 Natalie Weber vs. #4 Abby Nelson (Prescott); #6 Claire Pishko (Sunnyslope) vs. #2 Jordan Ludwig (Washington)

D-II doubles -- #1 Jerikah Davis-Taylor Alphabet (Chaparral) vs. #5 Nicole Rearick-Kaycee Boofer (Greenway); #3 Cierrah Hernandez-Deja Kennedy (Independence) vs. #2 Nicole Osteen-Emma Dinnigan (Cactus)