Baseball, softball seasons open with tournaments galore

February 21, 2011 by Les Willsey, AZPreps365

Baseball and softball begin competition in earnest this week with a number of invitationals hosted by East Valley and southern Arizona schools or complexes.

The array of tournaments start Wednesday. Here are the tournaments and  teams entered in each:


SCOTTSDALE INVITATIONAL: --  Feb. 23-March 5 at various HS sites; Team entered:  Pool A - Chaparral, Boulder Creek, Mountain Pointe, Highland and Gilbert; Pool B - Saguaro, Desert Mountain, Horizon, Desert Ridge and Mesquite. ADAM DONNENFIELD TOURNAMENT: -- Feb. 23-28 at varous HS sites; Teams entered: Brophy, Desert Edge, Central, Seton Catholic, Corona del Sol, North Canyon, Basha, Sandra Day O'Connor, Queen Creek, Chandler, Kofa, Gila Rige, Tucson. COWBOY UP CLASSIC: -- Feb. 23-26 at Kino Sports Complex, Tucson. Teams entered: Pool A: Catalina, Cactus Shadows, Marana Mtn. View, Coolidge; Pool B: Sahuaro, Salpointe, Santa Rita, Pueblo; Pool C: Sabino, Yuma, Desert View; Pool D: Catalina Foothills, Flagstaff, Cholla. MCCLINTOCK BASEBALL CLASSIC: - Feb. 24,26 and March 5 at McClintock HS; Teams entered: McClintock, Apache Junction, Williams Field, Perry, Skyline and Casa Grande. DESERT VISTA TOURNAMENT: - Feb. 25-26, March 4-5 at Desert Vista HS; Teams entered: Desert Vista, Hamilton, Red Mountain, Mesa Mtn. View, Cibola.


LION COUNTRY CLASSIC: - Feb. 23-26 at Red Mountain and Skyline high schools; Teams entered: Red Mountain, Desert Ridge, Highland, Mountain Pointe, Salpointe, Deer Valley, Skyline, Buchanan, Calif., Mesquite, Gilbert, Queen Creek, Boulder Creek, Perry, Basha, Mesa Mtn. View, Tucson. DORADO CLASSIC TOURNAMENT: - Feb. 24-25 at Sportspark Softball Complex, Tucson; Teams entered: Austin, Texas, Cactus Shadows, Canyon del Oro, Cholla, Ironwood Ridge, Kofa, Marana, Pinnacle, Pueblo, Rincon, Saguaro, Sahuarita, Sahuaro, Shadow Mountain, Sunnyslope, Xavier. DOBSON-MARCOS DE NIZA TOURNAMENT: - Feb. 23-26 at Dobson and Marcos de Niza high schools; Teams entered: Dobson, McClintock, Apache Junction, Westwood, Horizon, Marcos de Niza, Coronado, Chandler, Sunnyside, Mesa, Mountain Ridge.