Recommended Guidelines for Return to Activity

AIA's Executive Board has endorsed guidelines for the return to sport and activity for competition in the fall.

WRESTLING: Sunnyside leads Flowing Wells Invitational heading into semifinals

January 12, 2018 by Andy Morales, AZPreps365

Action continues at 10 a.m. on Saturday morning. (Andy Morales/


Sunnyside has a commanding lead heading into the semifinal round of the 52nd Flowing Wells Invitational. The Blue Devils lead Boulder Creek 170 to 112.5 with ten wrestlers still alive in the 14 weight classes. Walden Grove is in third place with 104 points.

The semifinal round is set for Saturday, Jan. 13 at 10 a.m. in the main gym on the Flowing Wells campus and the finals will start at 6 p.m. There will also be a “mini tournament” to be held outside starting at 10 a.m.

Sunnyside has won the tournament a record 28 times but the last championship for the Blue Devils was in 2013.




Roman Bravo-Young is 33-0 on the year (Andy Morales/




James Brown of Sunnyside

Chris Lopez of Walden Grove

Noah Kasprowicz of Boulder Creek

Isaiah Trujillo of Cleveland



Guaranteed Places

Jesse Ybarra of Sunnyside

Alex Dieball of Desert Mountain

Tristan Mascarenas of Cleveland

Aaron Valenzuela of Kofa



Manny Garcia of Sunnyside

Diego Guerrero of Walden Grove

Tariq Hornbuckle of Desert Vista

Marco Rivera of Tucson



Vicente Loaiza of Sunnyside

Jarett Christofferson of Boulder Creek

Zeke Marquez of Silver

Santiago Marquez of Cleveland



Roman Bravo-young of Sunnyside

Mckade Finch of Safford

Seth Fernandez of Queen Creek

Davan Gillespie of Camelback



Sal Silva of Walden Grove

Aaron Rodriguez of Sunnyside

Tanner Waite of Highland

Angelo Pool of Tucson



Denen Fernandez of Queen Creek

Zane Mckissick of Canyon Del Oro

Evan Killgore of Walden Grove

Justice Smith of Desert Vista



Dawon Andrews of Safford

Sheldon Cole of Boulder Creek

Jose Aguilar of Queen Creek

Carlos Urias of Kofa



Alex Torres of Marcos de Niza

Luke Jacobs of Brophy

Elijah Wyatt of Sunnyside

Preston Cameau of Desert Vista



Andrew Torres of Marcos de Niza

Sebastian Mordecai of Sunnyside

Vince Vega of Silver

Jack Kollings of Boulder Creek



Kashawn Crump-Valencia of Tucson

Gabe Garcia of Cleveland

Sam Tietjen of Marana

Gabe De la Rocha of Brophy



Eric Mickelson of Thunderbird

Matt Rees of Sunnyside

Omar Ibanez of Pueblo Magnet

Armando Delgado of Desert Vista



Chase Umphres of Safford

Hamza Manassra of Marcos de Niza

Jonathan Matuzak of Queen Creek

Ryan Cazares of Boulder Creek



Dale Banning of Queen Creek

Adrian Monreal of Sunnyside

Dominic Dallago of Brophy

Caleb Allen of Highland



1 Sunnyside 170

2 Boulder Creek 112.5

3 Walden Grove 104

4 Queen Creek 95.5

5 Cienega 88.5

6 Cleveland, NM 84

7 Safford 80

8 Marcos de Niza 78

9 Silver, NM 77

10 Kofa 76.5

11 Desert Vista 76

12 Brophy 73.5

12 Highland 73.5

14 Ironwood Ridge 68.5

15 Tucson 62

16 Pueblo 60.5

17 Canyon Del Oro 59

18 Hamilton 57

19 Centennial 55

20 Sahuaro 51

21 Mountain Pointe 49.5

22 Desert Mountain 44

23 Thunderbird 41

24 Willcox 38

25 Deming, NM 37.5

26 Sahuarita 37

27 El Paso Americas 36

28 Camelback 30.5

29 Marana 30

30 Catalina Foothills 25

31 Desert View 24

32 Flowing Wells 21

33 Douglas 20

34 Paradise Valley 16

34 Rio Rico 16

36 Socorro 15

37 Amphitheater 14

38 El Paso El Dorado 10

39 San Luis 7