Recommended Guidelines for Return to Activity

AIA's Executive Board has endorsed guidelines for the return to sport and activity for competition in the fall.

GIRLS WRESTLING: 50 athletes claim section championships

January 26, 2019 by Andy Morales, AZPreps365

Sectionals: Saturday, Jan. 26


280 girls took part in the first-ever sectional competition held on Saturday, Jan. 26 at five locations around the state and the 50 athletes listed below are the first high school section champions in the state of Arizona.

These 50 athletes will join the second and third place finishers to form the first class of athletes to compete for a state championship. The state tournament is slated for Friday, Feb. 8 at the Findlay Toyota Center in Prescott Valley.

Undefeated Mylei Seigla wrestling in the 118-class is going to state from Canyon del Oro. #AZPreps365

— Andy Morales (@AZPreps365Andy) January 26, 2019

The championship schedule is as follows:

Weigh-ins: 7:30 a.m.

Round 1: 9:45 a.m.

Round 2: 11:30 a.m.

Semifinals: 3:30 p.m. (approx.)

Championship Finals and Medal Rounds: 7:30 p.m.

Rincon/UHS took second place in Section III. (Andy Morales/


Sectional Team Champions


Chandler (I)

Ironwood (II)

Sunnyside (III)

Monument Valley (IV)

Mohave (V)


Sectional Individual Champions



Grace Wletschak of Desert Ridge (I)

Emily Porras of Ironwood (II)

Natalie Masters of Empire (III)

Caylee Townsend of Camp Verde (IV)

Lexi Borunda of Shadow Ridge (V)



Sierrah Thrun of Corona Del Sol (I)

Tiffany Aguirre of Maryvale (II)

Amelia Lewis of Walden Grove (III)

Jennifer Alcott of Monument Valley (IV)

Arely Carvajal of Yuma (V)



Stefana Jelacic of Chandler (I)

Cynthenie Tai of Washington (II)

Mylei Seigla Canyon Del Oro (III)

Shyann Dilley of Chino Valley (IV)

Genesis Higuera of Odyssy Institute (V)



Julia Chambers of Skyline (I)

Katherina Sotomayor of Ironwood (II)

Naliah Rosales of Marana (III)

Brooke Williams of Tuba City (IV)

Emma Gulczynski of Dysart (V)



Tyla Biggs of Casteel (I)

Yaniva Carrillo of Cesar Chavez (II)

Mercedes De La Rosa of Flowing Wells (III)

Sharmayne Crank of Page (IV)

Carolina Moreno of Kofa (V)



Taliyah Armstrong of Westwood (I)

Julia Lundberg of North Canyon (II)

Adriana Garland of Sunnyside (III)

Latasha Slim of Page (IV)

Jazmine Lobato of Mohave (V)



Brooke Fitzpatrick of Skyline (I)

Rylee Bruce of Moon Valley (II)

Nesa Martinez of Morenci (III)

Anjane Rose Chee of Chinle (IV)

Jessie McCurry of Deer Valley (V)



Jennifer Curry of Hamilton (I)

Alvina Litzin of Central (II)

Alianna Vega of Douglas (III)

Trinity Tompkins of Chino Valley (IV)

Layla Velasquez of San Pasqual (V)



Sofia Rubio of Marcos De Niza (I)

Mia Didur of Centennial (II)

Athiana Hernandez of Sunnyside (III)

Wagner Nikayla of Chinle (IV)

Rayna Anaya of Mohave (V)



Taylor Haney of Basha (I)

Lelya Powell of Central (II)

Kenya Starr of San Carlos (III)

Danni Schulz of Mingus Union (IV)

Mariana Reyes of Cibola (V)