Bijan Robinson earns Ed Doherty Award; Spencer Rattler named National QB of the Year; Danny White to be inducted into QB Hall of Fame

December 8, 2018 by Andy Morales, AZPreps365

Saturday proved to be an eventful day with several current and past high-profile Arizona high school football standouts earning state and national recognition.

First, Salpointe running back Bijan Robinson earned the Ed Doherty Award, signifying the best high school football player in Arizona. The Gridiron Club held its annual award luncheon Saturday afternoon at the Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch and 51 nominees from throughout the state were recognized for their accomplishments in the 2018 season.

Robinson, Chandler RB DeCarlos Brooks, Saguaro athlete Connor Soelle, Notre Dame receiver Jake Smith and Chandler QB Jacob Conover were named the five finalists by the selection committee and Robinson was chosen from this group of very deserving athletes.

Words cannot express how proud I am of @BijanRob_ Forever linked to Coach Doherty is a great honor! Having played for Coach Doherty and coaching Bijan are 2 of the great gifts in my life. To the @gcs_gridiron members - Thank you!
#2018 AZ Player of the Year 💯

— Dennis Bene (@LancerFBcoach) December 9, 2018

Only a junior, Robinson rushed for 2,400 yards with 35 touchdowns including 155 yards and a TD against Saguaro in the 4A state championship game.


2018 Ed Doherty Nominees (Peak Image Photo)


And @SCLancerNation @BijanRob_ Bijan Robinson named the top high school football player in Arizona @gcs_gridiron #EdDohertyAward

— Andy Morales (@AndyMorales8) December 8, 2018


Anthodrius Ashley Betty Fairfax RB SR

Israel Benjamin Saguaro RB JR

Trenton Bourguet Marana QB SR

Spencer Brasch Higley QB SR

DeCarlos Brooks Chandler RB SR

Kaleb Bryant Buena RB SR

Tommy Christakos Chaparral WR/K JR

Austin Clark Prescott QB SR

Jacob Conover Chandler QB SR

Braxton Croteau Liberty DL SR

Gunner Cruz Casteel QB SR

Kohner Cullimore Highland RB SR

Kevin Daniels Glendale RB JR

Michael Densmore Winslow DE SR

Tyler Duncan Greenway QB SR

Paxton Earl Arcadia RB JR

Ben Finley Paradise Valley QB/K JR

Keegan Freid Sunrise Mountain QB SR

Devon Grubbs Desert Vista RB FR

Nico Haen Sunnyslope QB JR

Hayden Hatten Saguaro TE/LB SR

Terrell Hayward Cienega WR SR

John Henderson Yuma Catholic WR SR

Hendrix Johnson Boulder Creek WR/SS SR

Brayden Leibrock Chandler TE SR

Brock Locnikar Notre Dame Prep LB JR

Logan Maxwell Higley DE SR

Eddie McClendon Mesa WR SR

Jakim McKinney Mountain Pointe RB SR

Trevor Messing Thunderbird QB SR

Jack Miller Chaparral QB JR

Zach Nelson Casteel WR SR

Coleman Owen Higley WR SR

Will Plummer Gilbert QB JR

Noa Pola-Gates Williams Field ATH SR

Chubba Purdy Perry QB JR

Ryan Puskas Liberty LB SR

Spencer Rattler Pinnacle QB SR

Gage Reese Yuma Catholic QB JR

Bijan Robinson Salpointe RB JR

Brayden Rohme Perry OL SR

Zack Sheppard Williams Field QB SR

Kedon Slovis Desert Mountain QB SR

Jake Smith Notre Dame RB/WR SR

Connor Soelle Saguaro LB SR

Malik Taylor Phoenix Christian RB SR

Vince Wallace Seton Catholic QB SR

Tyler Wilridge Tombstone RB/SS SR

Lucas Wright Desert Ridge RB SR

Jaydin Young Centennial S/RB JR

Jalen Young Perry RB SR

@SCLancerNation @BijanRob_ Bijan Robinson talking @gcs_gridiron #EdDohertyAward and some Lancer talk

— Andy Morales (@AndyMorales8) December 8, 2018



Danny White, Gridiron Club President Don Kile and Spencer Rattler (Andy Morales/


Next, Pinnacle QB Spencer Rattler was named National High School Quarterback of the Year by the National Quarterback Club. Bo Nix of Pinson Valley High School in Birmingham, Alabama was also recognized. Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints earned the NFL version and Jalen Hurts and Tua Tagovailoa of the University of Alabama earned the college recognition.

The National QB Award winners will be recognized at the National Quarterback Club Awards Dinner and Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch on January 19.

Finally, former Mesa Westwood QB Danny White will be inducted into the National Quarterback Hall of Fame on the same night as the Quarterback Club gala. White went on to play for Arizona State and the Dallas Cowboys.

Former Chicago Bears QB Jim McMahon will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame and former Buffalo Bills QB Jim Kelly and Oakland Raiders QB Ken Stabler will be honored with a  Legacy Recognition Award for their on-going contributions to their communities through the good works of their charitable foundations.


NOTE: I'm a voting member of the selection committee.