Recommended Guidelines for Return to Activity

AIA's Executive Board has endorsed guidelines for the return to sport and activity for competition in the fall.

With football scheduling back on, here’s a look at the Southern Arizona regions

May 19, 2020 by Andy Morales, AZPreps365

Salpointe moved up to 5A and the Lancers will go without Bijan Robinson, 80 percent of the offensive yardage, 11 of the top defenders, 17 of the top 20 defenders and former head coach Dennis Bene. (Andy Morales/AZPreps365)

Corona del Sol, 4-7 (16)
Mesa, 6-4 (18)
Tucson, 4-6 (21)
Dobson, 3-7 (24)
Skyline, 2-8 (26)
Westwood, 2-4 (28)

The Tucson Badgers move from the 6A Metro Region to an entirely new region with completely different opponents. The Badgers finished 4-6 overall last year with a 4-1 record in their region. Corona del Sol was the only team to make the playoffs last year after four teams from the 6A Conference made the Open Division and the Aztecs were one of three teams with only four wins to make the playoffs. The Badgers last played Mesa in 2014; Westwood in 2010 and Corona del Sol in 2008. The Badgers have never played against Dobson or Skyline.

Salpointe, 10-1 (4A: Open 4)
Buena, 8-3 (9)
Mountain View, 6-5 (16)
Desert View, 6-4 (22)
Flowing Wells, 2-8 (33)
Cholla, 2-8 (34)

Salpointe moved up from 4A after making the Open Division and finishing in the top three in the state. Buena and Mountain View made the 5A playoffs last year. Mountain View won the 5A Sonoran Region.

Cienega, 9-3 (7)
Ironwood Ridge, 5-6 (13)
Sunnyside, 3-7 (26)
Rincon/University, 6-4 (28)
Nogales, 4-6 (29)
Marana, 1-9 (32)

Cienega won the 5A Southern Region and the Bobcats were the only 5A team from Southern Arizona to win a playoff game. The Nighthawks also made the playoffs. Salpointe won the 4A Kino Region.

Sahuaro, 9-3 (1)
Canyon Del Oro, 8-3 (3)
Walden Grove, 9-2 (5)
Pueblo, 8-3 (11)
Casa Grande, 8-5 (12)
Mica Mountain, (New)

Walden Grove won the 4A Gila Region. This new region has playoff teams and a new team from the Vail School District, Mica Mountain. The Thunderbolts will play JV.

Catalina Foothills, 3-7 (23)
Amphitheater, 5-5 (27)
Rio Rico, 4-6 (31)
Palo Verde, 3-7 (35)
Douglas, 3-7 (37)
Empire, 1-9 (5A: 40)

Empire moved down from 5A by appeal. No playoff teams.

Safford, 8-3 (7)
Sabino, 8-4 (10)
Pusch Ridge, 5-5 (19)
Sahuarita, 5-5 (25)
Thatcher, 8-5 (2A: 7)

Thatcher moved up from 2A. Sabino is the only team from 3A to win a playoff game last year. Sabino has never played Thatcher.

Benson, 8-4 (9)
Bisbee, 8-3 (10)
Morenci, 4-7 (15)
Willcox, 5-5 (18)
Pima, 3-6 (20)
Tombstone, 2-8 (33)

Basically the same region Benson won last year except Santa Rita moved out and Morenci and Pima moved in. Three playoff teams. Benson won a playoff game.

Santa Cruz, 10-3 (4)
Antelope Union, 7-4 (12)
Santa Rita, 3-7 (29)
Catalina, 1-9 (3A: 37)
Tanque Verde, 0-10 (3A: 39)
Sequoia Pathway, (New)

Santa Cruz is the dominant team in this region by reputation. Sequoia Pathway is a new AIA school and Tanque Verde and Catalina moved down from 3A.

Duncan, 7-3 (6)
Fort Thomas, 6-5 (11)
St. David, 5-4 (12)
Baboquivari, 4-4 (14)
Valley Union, 1-8 (20)
Cibecue, 0-8 (23)

Duncan, Fort Thomas and St. David made the playoffs. Duncan won the 1A South Region and Fort Thomas made it to the quarterfinals.

Superior, 9-2 (3)
Hayden, 8-3 (5)
Ray, 3-6 (13)
Lincoln Prep, 1-5 (19)
San Manuel, 4-6 (2A: 26)
Tempe Prep, 2-8 (2A: 38)

Superior was the 1A runner-up last year and won the 1A East Region. Hayden finished in the semifinal round. San Manuel moves down to 8-man football.