Recommended Guidelines for Return to Activity

AIA's Executive Board has endorsed guidelines for the return to sport and activity for competition in the winter.

AIA Executive Board votes to make Girls Wrestling a team sport

April 25, 2020 by Andy Morales, AZPreps365

Corona del Sol standout Sierrah Thrun was the first repeat champion in Arizona history. (Andy Morales/

The Arizona Interscholastic Association (AIA) Executive Board voted to make Girls’ Wrestling a team sport on Monday. No longer an “emerging sport,” the growing numbers were cited as the main reason for taking the next logical step.

There will be on division and the Executive Board meeting is scheduled for Aug. 17.

In 2019, 224 wrestlers competed at the various sectionals to decide which wrestlers would compete for an individual title in the ten weight classes. That number jumped to 435 last year and the move to Veterans Memorial Stadium in Phoenix for state competition will surely cause another increase in participation.

“This is huge for the girls and the wrestling community overall,” said Pueblo assistant coach Ticia Mia Valenzuela Smith. “It is the perfect time for Arizona to sanction girls high school wrestling because of the significant growth of participants over the last two years and the showcase of talent currently in middle school. As a state, we have the talent to compete at the next level. Now these girls will have the opportunity to sharpen their skills during the entire year to work towards goals of wrestling in college or internationally. Wrestling is such a great sport, it's exciting to see AIA make this happen for the girls. This will actually be great to help the overall growth of wrestling for some programs. Now we just need to get passed this pandemic and back in the wrestling room.”



Sierrah Thrun, Corona del Sol

Carolina Moreno, Kofa

Mia Didur, Centennial



101: Lexi Borunda of Shadow Ridge

110: Sierrah Thrun of Corona del Sol

118: Stefana Jelacic of Chandler

125: Julia Chambers of Skyline

130: Carolina Moreno of Kofa

135: Julia Lundberg of North Canyon

145: Jessie McCurry of Deer Valley

160: Jennifer Curry of Hamilton

185: Mia Didur of Centennial

225: Danni Schulz of Mingus Union



101: Emily Porras of Ironwood

110: Sierrah Thrun of Corona del Sol

118: Adacelli Noriega of Bisbee

125: Carolina Moreno of Kofa

130: Bree Garcia of Barry Goldwater

135: Genesis Higuera of Odessey Institute

145: Taliyah Armstrong of Westwood

160: Angie Ochoa of Maryvale

185: Mia Didur of Centennial

225: Naomi Norton of Arizona Lutheran


Sending as many wrestlers to state from sectionals is the name of the game in team competition and Pueblo sent six wrestlers to state last year, although four of those were seniors. Dobson sent five, with four seniors, and Page sent five with only one senior:



Pueblo: 6

Page: 5

Dobson: 5

Basha: 4

Gila Ridge: 4

Goldwater: 4

Liberty: 4

Ironwood: 4

Sierra Linda: 4

Westwood: 4
Winslow: 4



Monument Valley: 6

Basha: 5

Ironwood: 5

Mohave: 5

Chavez: 4

Chino Valley: 4

Page: 4

Sunnyside: 4